Can i do Mild Bhastrika for indigestion?

 

||Yoga is beyond exercises and breathing||

||Yoga is beyond exercises & breathing||

Pranam Acharyaji,

I live in US. I am male and 27 years old an engineer by profession I have indigestion issues(lack of appetite, malabsorption, bloating) for 20 years or may be more but I don’t remember. I am not looking for yoga as a spiritual journey or awaken some inner powers. I do yoga as soul purpose of staying fit and keep my digestion decently working if not perfect. I don’t have access to Guru’s in here but I got interested in yoga at very early age for health reasons and studying ever since then most of the books from Bihar school of yoga. I made my own plan which is

1)Pawanmuktasana
2)Bhujangasana
3) Shalabhasana
4) Matsyasana
5) Ardha matyendrasana
6) Nadishodhana and ujjayi for about 25 minutes after asana.

I have been doing all this for almost 1.5 years without any gaps. I want to include very slow, mild bhastrika since its known to increase digestive power.

My question is should I include Bhastrika or just stick to what I am doing? Bhastrika will actually benefit me or will do more harm then good. You have deep understanding and knowledge on the topic, I am seeking your guidance before I do anything stupid.

Thank you very much.

– A.P.

Beloved AP,

I am enthralled at your enthusiasm in Exercises of Indic origin. I call it exercise because when you choose only a part of ‘this holistic system of self-realization’ for health benefits it can not be called Yoga. Nevertheless you have displayed marvelous self-discipline in continuity and perseverance. Although you are following a self-devised-prescription for your indigestion issues but the very fact you are continuing with practices shows it has given you results. Your choice is a well-read choice, may say so.

Yet, my recommendation has been that self-learners better restrict themselves to Asana only. Even learning asanas by self is not highly recommendable. But since you have studied all possible books available on the subject of Asana etc. you felt confident of trying it yourself.. good for you. Still I feel you should consult an authentic yoga teacher at least once to understand you are doing postures right, breathing correctly during asanas, not ensuing any undue pressure to undesirable points etc.

Regarding bhastrika , there is nothing called mild-bhastrika first of all. The sole tone of this pranayama is not ‘gentle’ it ought to be vigorous, deep and even jerky to be accurate. So if you plan to do mild-bhastrika.. it would not be bhastrika at all instead a session of gently fast paced deep breathing. And you may have understood – I don’t recommend any pranayama unless a moderate degree of nadi-cleansing has been achieved by the practitioners. As of now I am not sure whether you are referring ‘alternate nostril breathing’ as nadi-shodhana or you are actually doing nado-shodhana. In case you are practising ‘nadi-shodhana’ you must continue with it for yet another year before taking up kapalbhati or bhastrika etc. that too not without supervision.

It would be good for you if you could learn applying ‘bandhas’ and ‘nauli’ from an experienced teacher.. especially uddiyaan bandha would be quite helpful in igniting the digestive fires in your case. Nauli shall also help in toning up your digestive system especially intestines. Shankh-prakshaalana twice a year in appropriate seasons would revitalize your system.

I suspect you are allergic to some food. May be you get yourself tested for possible allergies. Another thing which you can try and see whether this helps – completely shun away from rice and rice products for 2 weeks and see if it further betters your condition.

In case you wish to take your learning to another level, you can choose to get initiated into discipline of  ‘Tattv Shakti Vigyaan’.

Blessings from Masters..

– Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

About Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

Master AD, as Acharya Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath is lovingly called by his disciples, friends is a true Tantra Master. You can either love him or hate him but for sure you can NOT ignore him. He and his beloved consort Ma Shakti Devpriya Anand Nath are engaged in spreading scientific spirituality in masses through their Tattva Shakti Vigyaan initiation camps. Master AD has equal command on Yoga, Pranamaya, Tantra and Kriya Yoga techniques and guides seekers worldwide.
This entry was posted in Conversations with master.. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can i do Mild Bhastrika for indigestion?

  1. Atul purohit says:

    Thank you very much for your quick response. I appreciate your time and input. As you suggested there is no such thing as mild Bhastrika. Then I will just add deep abdominal breathing in Shavasana to my “exercise regime”.

    Thank you you once again!

Leave a Reply

