Mood swings and kapalbhati pranayama!

||Pranayama||

||Pranayama||

 

I started doing kapalbhati since over a week now. Although as I understand, the recommended time is at least 5 minutes but I am not able to continuously do it till 5 mins. So, I am doing it for 1.5-2 mins in 3 sets. Not sure if that is okay?

Secondly, I started doing kapalbhati as it was suggested by Baba Ramdev and some of my friends as a very good remedy to treat uterus fibroid that I have.

But since I started doing this exercice, for some reason I have started getting a lot of mood swings, like I suddenly feel too good or feel very sad for small reasons. I feel like crying for small issues etc – not sure if this is happening due to kapalbhati or not.

Need guidance here.

– Pooja

 

 

 

Beloved Puja,

Shivoham!

Welcome to the least understood, most publicized, wonder world of yog and pranamaya… It is no surprise how you decided to take it up a week ago.. in fact  thousands of people get in this territory every month without even understanding how it will affect them and what are serious implications of this. They think it is ‘just breathing’. (smile)

You say..

I started doing kapalbhati since over a week now. Although as I understand, the recommended time is at least 5 minutes but I am not able to continuously do it till 5 mins. So, I am doing it for 1.5-2 mins in 3 sets. Not sure if that is okay?

You are not sure of whatever practices you are doing but are you really sure you want to implement the suggestion given by me or just wish to take opinion and do things your way? Well, since you have asked it is my duty to respond. Yet I always say.. go, talk to your teacher and explain him/her your issues which have come after starting your practices. Alas! you don’t have a Guru or teacher of Yoga with you and you can not ask questions to ‘Books’, ‘DVDs’ and ‘TV Sets’. Can you? I have been stating the facts for people to take note of , many listen to it others ignore as a facade. It is up to you to consider what ancient Yogic literature and more sincere Masters say about the dangers of pranayama.

You are an educated, logical person.. may I ask you whether you studied about the subject of Yog and Pranayam before taking up the practices? Did you consult a teacher? If not then you are proved your education wrong. because pranayma is not ‘just breathing’… And logically, had it been so How could it affect your particular health condition? And if something is so effective, so powerful that it can treat your fibrosis of specific area don’t you think such a powerful technique may affect you negatively also if the method of practitioner is flawed and its power gets directed to undesired places? Going to gym is ok, pumping iron is fine, push ups and sit ups are ok.. because you know which part of your body you are targeting in these exercises. How will you direct energies generated in pranayam to a particular point? I dont think you have been trained in it..

My answer to your question is “NO, It is not OK.’ Your doing kapalbhati itself is not OK, what to talk of duration and your capacity. Did you understand what I mean? I am saying – Kapalbhati without preparation is not OK.

You say..

I started doing kapalbhati as it was suggested by Baba Ramdev and some of my friends as a very good remedy to treat uterus fibroid that I have.

Beloved, I may sound little cold here but my advice to you would be.. You are following Baba Ramdev’s suggestions.. Why don’t you ask him about these. And is your friends Yoga Masters? If yes, which Guru lineage she/he belongs to? Hold your thoughts Pooja, be rational for your sake.

You further ask..

since I started doing this excercice, for some reason I have started getting a lot of mood swings, like I suddenly feel too good or feel very sad for small reasons. I feel like crying for small issues etc – not sure if this is happening due to kapalbhati or not.

Yes! This is definitely a side effect of the breathing exercises you are doing. You should know taht Pranayma generates lots of energies and if it is done without following preparatory step i.e. Nadi-Shodhan it is likely to cause problems. Sometimes irreparable damages to your vital system. I am not saying so.. the text books on Yog written by Master Yogis (who wrote both the positives and negatives about yogic components like Asana and pranayama) of antiquity. It is mentioned in Vedas.. It is your discretion whether you believe Vedas (the original texts on Pranayama and Yog) or your friends or TV. There are many authentic Yoga text books available in the market which you can refer to. If you don’t find drop a mail to the team at info@sacredassociation.org they will help you out with some text on it.

Also there are some serious and sincere Yoga teachers ready to help you. If in doubt check their authenticity using your knowledge (gained through reading authentic yoga/vedic literature). But you must see someone is person before you continue with your practices.

You wrote at the end..

Need guidance here.

I replied to you on the cost of repetition. There are so many articles on this site which you could refer to.. may be you did .. may be you did not. I have said what I could, Do you feel guided?

Blessings from Masters..

– Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

About Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

Master AD, as Acharya Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath is lovingly called by his disciples, friends is a true Tantra Master. You can either love him or hate him but for sure you can NOT ignore him. He and his beloved consort Ma Shakti Devpriya Anand Nath are engaged in spreading scientific spirituality in masses through their Tattva Shakti Vigyaan initiation camps. Master AD has equal command on Yoga, Pranamaya, Tantra and Kriya Yoga techniques and guides seekers worldwide.
This entry was posted in Conversations with master.. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mood swings and kapalbhati pranayama!

  1. msanjana says:

    Reblogged this on Bindas Spirituality.

  2. pooja says:

    Thanks for your response

  3. Sharmila Bose says:

    I have been diagnosed with uterine fibroids. Will it be safe for me to do Kapalbhati pranayam and for how long? Kindly advice.

    • Shivoham!

      Beloved Sharmila,

      Read other articles on Kapalbhati. Further I dont recommend it on any circumstances unless you have completed your Nadi-Shodhan regime.

      – Acharya Agyaatadarshan

    • Shivoham!

      Beloved Sharmila,

      Kapalbhati shall not be of help but may cause other complications as well. You are advised to take up a thorough spiritual discipline like Tattva Shakti Vigyaan along with medicinal therapy for detoxification and catharsis. It can be safely cured with persistent efforts.

      – Acharya Agyaatadarshan Anand Nath

  4. Udit says:

    Respected Master,
    Many teachers, books quote Kapalbhati a process of purification in itself i.e. last of six shatkarma. Which is performed before proceeding towards pranayama. But, I learned reading your article that it is an advanced step which should be done after practicing asanas and nadi-shodhana for a sufficient time. Kindly throw some light.

    Udit

Leave a Reply

