Is Homosexuality a deterrent in spiritual growth?

Fearless Inquiry!

Fearless Inquiry!

Master AD,

Thank you for your website and the wisdom and direction you provide to us. I have read several of your postings and I am very thankful for the truths you provide. I can feel myself resonating when I read your page. Let me begin by saying that I was originally raised in the Christian faith and after having a fall out and deep wounds, I had closed off myself spiritually for many years. I recently went through a break-up with someone that I loved dearly and it has caused me much pain and agony because I had never experienced love on a level that deep before. The positive side to this break up is that in having no one else to turn to, I had to return to communication with the Divine. It also allowed me to reflect on my life and my own spiritual growth. I felt for a long time that Christianity no longer had anything to teach me, but thankfully my brother is a strong follower of eastern teachings and I feel that it is where I am to go also. Please be patient with my ignorance and I humble myself before you so that you may lead me to a path of proper spiritual growth. I have searched as much as I can and I have not found an answer to my question.

I have read your teaching on Yoga, Sex, and Masturbation and let me just say that I was enlightened by your teaching. It finally provided an answer as to what is happening on a spiritual level and why it stunts your spiritual growth. I have never seen a Master be so open about a topic like this without expressing truths that almost seem like riddles. Sometimes the people that are still young in their understandings need help too, in layman’s terms.🙂 Thank you so much. My question is also related to sexuality.

I wanted to understand what Homosexuality is on a spiritual level. Some say it is an abomination. Though, in my searches it seems that eastern teachings also have very little to say on it. Even some Masters only touch lightly on it in their teachings with a very vague “out of sight, out of mind” perspective. The lack of teachings for this scares me and makes me feel like there is something wrong with me that no one wants to talk about. Perhaps the truth behind it is so deep that it may hurt someone like me with a very limited understanding? Please let me say that my sexuality is very real, and it was something I never chose. Is homosexuality something that needs to be “corrected” to grow spiritually or does it have its own place? I find it very disheartening to think that my whole existence in this life is to fight against what I feel is my natural orientation and that I may never get to experience love with someone without the unconscious fear that it is wrong.. However, with that said, after this break-up and the reasons behind it, I have come to the conclusion that although I do consider myself homosexual, I feel like I do not fit in with the gay community and that I am supposed to be on a different path. A spiritual one. I am very disheartened at the moment and I don’t know what I’m supposed to be doing. I have been down the Christian road of  “gay is wrong, you’re going to burn” lifestyle and that caused me to have 2 ulcers and an attempted suicide by the time I was 19, because I could not change what I am. Also, I have lived a lifestyle full of lusts and trappings of the flesh, and it is not fulfilling and only leads to a greater sense of worthlessness and emptiness. I have been talking with God recently, and I do feel that it is helping. I want to grow. I need to. Please help me understand what is going on inside me so that I may reach a new level of understanding and maybe an idea of where I should start. Thank you for your wisdom.

– D.C.

Beloved D.C.,

Reasons aside.. Its good to see you back to yourself. It was needed!

Now… Although seemingly spirituality has nothing to with external world and orientations but only with internal world but that is not so. It is more than what meets the eyes.. In fact spirituality concerns “Real self” and this Real Self is masked with the “Virtual Self” or unreal self, which world recognizes as Daniel. This Virtual self is the bridge between world and Real Self, Daniel and thus we need to understand its intricacies, its pit-falls, its ego trips, its identification as male or female, Straight, Bi or Gay, beautiful, ugly, white or black…. in fact there are as many identifications as many men on the earth. No two people perceive themselves identically. No two people in this world think the same thing the same time the same way. It is really amazing to just feel this fact. Isn’t it? Billions of thoughts but none are exactly the same. No two people desire the same and so on.. Great feeling is this!!

However there are still generalizations in desire-sets. And these generalizations have been studied thoroughly by seers and Masters. In their opinion as well these have some utilitarian significance in normal day to day life and spirituality. No desire of object is real – All desires are about bliss (Aananda). Everyone is in the quest of Ananda.. every one under the sun. This is true to the core. Whether you are a materialistic person or so called god oriented – you are desiring bliss. Some religions make good use of this desire of bliss in its acceptance in common masses.. Christianity is also one of them. Asking you to focus on “Afterlife rather than Life”.

Back to desires. Your sense organs face external world. These receive triggers from outside and thus you become interested in outside world. Scientifically.. certain combination of sensual impulses create a good sensation in the brain which you call pleasure. Psychologically it is your mental makeup, inherent traits, upbringing, traumas and conditioning which govern what exact type of impulses you would choose in outer world in the pursuit of your agenda of bliss. It decides your inclination and affinity towards particular objects, persons, foods, scents, situations and positions (sexual preferences included) etc. Since people mistakenly feel that Bliss, (that uninterrupted state of pleasure) should be heightened and more refined state of ‘Pleasure’ and thus they continue to try using different permutations and combination of external objects of pleasure to achieve that but REMEMBER! These series choices are all originating from your Virtual Self. This virtual self – which is interface between your Real Self converts its core desire of bliss in desires for objects, sense pleasures and so on. The real beginning of spiritual quest is when you gain understanding of this process.

Now back to your question – Is Homosexuality is a deterrent in spiritual growth? Well, the answer is both Yes or No. In fact on one plane pure intrinsic sexuality (in any form – Bi/Homo/Hetro), if not handled in right perspective, can also be (and in fact most of the times it is!) a hurdle in spiritual progress. On the plane of body there is nothing wrong with Homosexuality. In fact it simply means that you feel attracted to your image and somewhere fear of unknown, past-life traumas, conditioning or blockages in sexual growth plays very crucial role in this. There are many things for which one can and should develop acceptance on social level and i don’t see any issue in people exercising their choices in choosing which gender they wish to come close with however since this has, up to some extent, a role to play in spiritual ascension. Let me explain you why.

Though the thought and choices in sexual preferences are for real and authentic yet even bigger and more material fact is your body. This has a shape and its internal chemistry. If things go wrong at bodily level – it gives indication at that level as well. Eunuch’s body chemistry malfunction is very much visible to everyone around – It is more real. So if someone is born in the male body but the body itself starts changing its characteristics it may be really unavoidable for that person to not change his/her preferences and even go to the extent of taking medical help to catalyze and augment that change. And even if that is not done, such person (if chooses to become close to same gender – because he/she is actually feeling different) is actually in sync with his body chemistry. His physical body generates energy currents which are not in tune with the physical structure. In fact he/she is victim of a grosser and more dense realm opposed to the one who is just psychologically inclined that way. Thoughts and subconscious mind can be trained by self-introspection and even with some therapies and such orientation can be modified when it is only at a psychological level, level of liking rather than body.

Once again I must tell you that I am not suggesting that all gays or lesbian people should take pain of going through this introspection or that such orientation is criminal. No, it is not and neither I stand against it at social level. It is definitely matter of personal choice – someone may like to eat vegetables and some may not. Some may like to have sexual intimacy with same gender some may not. On the lighter note if some sect of men say they are inclined to have sex only with Lionesses and Tigresses – I don’t think anyone would object to it rather they will pray they remain alive for next session. The may succeed as well lest they elude arrest and legal action by administration and also the opposition from “Right to Animals” community.

As I have already explained – The energy currents of male body and female body are complementary which can be used for mutual empowerment and spiritual ascension. Also if couple learns the right technique it eliminates the need of abstinence from sex and also clears the path for spiritual ascension. Gays and Lesbians do not have this advantage of circulation of energy during the act even if they try to force it at will because Chakras or energy centers just refuse to change their original body-bound receptiveness or emissive characteristics. One more thing – there is nothing like a women in the body of man or man in women body. Yes, i agree there can be manly tendencies of mind in a woman and other way round. And it is up to individual to stay with those thoughts or try changing it – No one, including spiritual Masters have no right to dictate the change.

At the end I want you to understand that if someone is not so enthusiastic about this cumbersome process of changing one’s thoughts and preferences only disadvantage will be that he/she will not be able to transmute their sexual energies in the act of intimacy and they will have to follow another suitable path for their spiritual attainment. There exist not one but many other methods which do not take help of energy currents of our energy body for spiritual growth.

I am sure this elaboration would give you some respite and also an opportunity to further inquire within, experiment and take some decision about yourself.

Sending love and light your way..

Shivoham

– Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

About Ach. Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath

Master AD, as Acharya Agyaatdarshan Anand Nath is lovingly called by his disciples, friends is a true Tantra Master. You can either love him or hate him but for sure you can NOT ignore him. He and his beloved consort Ma Shakti Devpriya Anand Nath are engaged in spreading scientific spirituality in masses through their Tattva Shakti Vigyaan initiation camps. Master AD has equal command on Yoga, Pranamaya, Tantra and Kriya Yoga techniques and guides seekers worldwide.
This entry was posted in Conversations with master.. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Homosexuality a deterrent in spiritual growth?

  1. kchandra89 says:

    nice explaination acharya…

Leave a Reply

