What Swadhyaya can do no metaphor can…

|| Silence your mind & meditate ||

I am sorry for the irreverence AD, but isn’t the child metaphor overplayed at many places? I have brooded over this topic sometime back and upon your posting too. What you have written is almost true to the word. But I doubt the other side of children, the shades of grey they have.

I have seen small kids get jealous of a small toy the other kid has; or maybe a lust for a small chocolate for which they will roll on the floor and mud crying; or their usual tendency to avoid sick people – most children don’t wish to stay near sick people; they tend to run away – isn’t that a shade of selfishness and lack of empathy? A saint works his way towards bliss but he will never shirk to service and aged or a sick person.

And a lot of kids just can’t sit for 2 minutes at one place – restless as a squirrel. Childen show a lot of envy/jealousy and usually fight for things, just as adults do. Our toys are different then theirs, our chocolates are different – but we essentially tend to behave the same way. I have even seen an elder kid beating his young sibling just because he felt that the newborn elicits more love from his parents. The youngsters have their own sets of cravings and longings and apprehensions. They have their own craven heart that falls for things they think are achievable.

It looks like we have essentially the same mind/cravings etc – just the objects of attachment differ as we find ourselves more and more capable to get something. Yes, the adults are worse in one certain way – they are far more conceited than they yonger counterparts – when a kid is envious, he betrays the emotion; as adults we hide it under our genial faces. Such are my doubts AD. I always had this doubt about kids.

- KN

Beloved Niraj..

 

Your observation is correct intellectually and psychology however it doesn’t anyways blur the picture I painted for someone to understand what he/she should aim for in his/her preparation before trying to enter the temple of Meditation.

 

I have heard that a friend of Mulla Nasiruddin asked him “Mulla, why are you always carrying a door with you?”

“Oh, its just a security measure: since the only way to enter my house is through the door, I always carry the door with me!“ Mulla replied.

Mulla is right but to enter the house a door is not to be carried over your shoulders. That is why I always say.. whatever a Master speaks is rarely gets communicated to people. Their mind comes in between. In fact there are no ideals in this world which can suffice in analogy of another context but a Master has to use it. Many ideals have been overplayed, overstated, hyperbole and so on.. but that doesn’t distort the sketch a master wishes to draw, its blurred vision instead.

In our Shastras, vedic literature a Sadhaka is compared with Swan for it was believed that Swan is capable of separating milk from water even if the two were mixed. Whether there exists any such creature under the sun or not but the metaphor is beautiful and that is what is expected of any true seeker.

The path requires a questioner to raise himself from “inquisitive” to “interested” and from there to “engaged”. Such a transformation comes from Swadhyaya and here swadhyaya doesn’t mean “Reading religious and philosophical texts”.. it means “Swa (self) + Adhyaya (introspection)”.

Niraj, words and examples would keep failing till you succeed. And your success is in invoking your “Pragya” rather than “Buddhi”.

To end here is a short story -

A Fakir claimed that he could teach any illiterate person to read through an “instant technique.”

“OK,” Nasruddin said “Teach me.”

The Fakir then touched Nasruddin’s head and said, “Now go read something.”

Nasruddin left and returned to the village square an hour later with an angry look on his face.

“What happened?” asked the villagers. “Can you read now?”

“Indeed I can,” replied Nasruddin, “but that’s not why I came back? Now where is that scoundrel Fakir?”

“Mulla,” the people said, “he taught you to read in no more than a minute. So what makes you think he’s a scoundrel?”

“Well,” Nasrudin explained, “I was just reading a book that asserted, ‘All Fakirs are frauds.’“

There is no irreverence Niraj, This is how the human mind is programmed. (laughs)

 

Shivoham

- Ach. Agyaatdarshan

2 comments on “What Swadhyaya can do no metaphor can…

  1. Like always, you seem to have pierced the confusion with precise, measured words. I indeed find myself bogged down due to the sheer number of options my mind and intellect suggests for any problem. Unlike the sure steps of a realized one, I tend to waver in decisions and in evaluating whether this is good or that is.
    I think I have understood why it is important to use pragya instead of buddhi, and swadhyay instead of volumes of religious scriptures. But like always, everytime I read your answers and meditate on them, I think I find new meanings that were missed the last time.

    Pranam
    KN

  2. Master AD,
    Thanks for guiding me always. Master I am not able to completely surrender in love. I feel there is tug of war between my mind and heart. The days are peaceful and loving when my heart chakra is activated and I work through that level. But it is not for long, and there is a block. My mind jumps in and gives me so many reasons not to love and believe. Please help AD I don’t want to loose my love because of these plays as I know our union has greater purpose…..

Leave a Reply

